From where comes the inward fire, O Lord…

Holy Mary II
A statue of the Holy Virgin Mother treading upon the serpent, which I happened upon mysteriously in the middle of the woods while hiking one day, somewhere in Bukmyeon, South Korea

From where comes the inward fire, O Lord,
How does it arrive in such a way as to grow from invisibility?
The hunger of its essence bringing sight, hearing, hope.
I give chase as though chasing a breath.

Ever does your Presence burn away within me, my God,
Like a hot coal ever threatening to set the whole works ablaze.
I cry unto thee, O Lord my God, set my heart afire!
Burn away the chaff and skim the dross of my impurities away!

From where does this inward burning come, O Lord?
I give chase as though chasing a breath…

Mercy, my soul weeps, Mercy from thee, Lord Jesus,
O Sacred Word, let me hear your voice,
Permit me not to stand in Thy way,
Turn the beauty of Thy face toward your lowly servant.

May all my foolishness and want fall to the wayside,
May they drown in your presence, forever lost, O God,
Shattered and swept away like chariots in the Red Sea.
Though I be ever unworthy, Lord, yet does my soul weep for Thy Mercy.

From where does this inward burning come, O Lord?
I give chase as though chasing a breath…
(A new song, by Unlikely Wanderer)

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit.  As it was in the beginning, is now and will be forever.  Amen

One Comment Add yours

  1. AB says:

    This is truly beautiful. I can feel the Holy Spirit’s power coursing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

