O Whisper, Breath who lives, who dwells…

O Whisper, Breath who lives, who dwells,

I hearken, then turn away and hearken again,

Calling into my sadness, bidding me to chase and to seek thee,

Though over mine own self I stumble, I find thee beside the well.

O Whisper, Breath who lives, who dwells,

Strength this day I have not,

Weak in body, weary of soul, broken of heart, darkened mind,

Vanity upon vanity, the structures I build, my spirit qwells.

O Whisper, Breath who lives, who dwells,

The heart of my vanities to know I fear,

The great and hollow empty, the abyss of mine self bereft.

And yet there You whisper, there my shadows You repel!

O Whisper, Breath who lives, who dwells,

With such foolheartedness have I trusted my ways,

Though Your mercy and goodness before me have always been,

Mine own paths have I followed unto the very gates of hell.

O Whisper, Breath who lives, who dwells,

I know not how I can now know and see,

That I have emptied myself not for You, but of You,

For days beyond counting, I rejoiced as I fell…

O Whisper of Mercy, beside thine own well,

Here I am, Lord, to thine wretched servant why dost thee call?

In sadness and remorse I can but weep,

How can it be that within each tear thou dost dwell?

O Whisper, Breath who lives, who dwells,

Though over mine own self I stumble, I find thee beside the well.

(A New Song, by Unlikely Wanderer)

De Profundis

Out of the depths I cry to thee, O Lord! Lord, hear my voice!

Let thy ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications!

If thou, O Lord, shouldst mark iniquities, Lord, who could stand?

But there is forgiveness with thee, that thou mayest be feared.

I wait for the Lord; my soul waits, and in his word I hope;

My soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning,

more than watchmen for the morning.

 

O Israel, hope in the Lord!

For with the Lord is steadfast love, and with Him is plenteous redemption.

And He will redeem Israel from all his iniquities.

– Psalm 130 RSV-CE

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

One Comment Add yours

  1. AB says:

    It is the most beautiful thing in this fallen world; to be renewed by the Holy Spirit as our faith grows. All glory to God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

